An Amazon Best Book of the Month<br> An Indie Next Pick<br> One of Wall Street Journal 's Twelve Books to Read This Winter<br> An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018<br> An Elle Best Book of Winter<br> A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall<br> A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall<br> A Nylon Best Book of the Month<br> One of Publishers Weekly 's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017<br> <br> Five women. One question. What is a woman for?<br> <br> In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.<br> <br> Ro , a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv#65533;r , a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.<br> <br> RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.